Every Sunday during the month of October from 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. the newly renovated 1844 Presley Tyler Farmhouse will be open for historical tours. The exterior was recently restored as well as interior walls. Funding for this project was made possible through the sponsorship of John Marshall, National Society Daughters of the American Revolution and Emilie Strong Smith Memorial Fund.
Docents will lead visitors through the farmhouse and share with them the history and unique architectural structure elements of the historic buildings.
The Historic Homestead’s began in 1782 when the deed for the land was acquired from Edward Tyler’s service during the American Revolutionary War. Moses Tyler, Edward’s son, became the first homesteader on the property in 1795. He built a double-crib Appalachian Style barn, which still stands and is one of the last in America and also acquired the first Whiskey license issued by the State of Kentucky. From mid-October until Spring 2021, the portrait of Edward Tyler III, brother of Moses Tyler will be on display in the Presley Tyler Farmhouse. It is on loan from the Filson Historical Society.
November 29 through December 6th, the house will be adorned for the holiday season and there will be a special display of a 60 piece 1930’s Thomas Kinkade Christmas Village. Tours of the Presley Tyler Farmhouse and Village is $10 for non-members; $5 for members.